7th Edinburgh International Willem Vis Pre-Moot 2017/18

The 7th Edinburgh International Willem Vis Pre-Moot took place on Saturday 24th February and Sunday 25th February 2018.  

This event allowed an international field of students to compete with each other and gain feedback from arbitrators, legal practitioners and academics of an equally diverse international background.

This year, we were happy to welcome student teams from:

  • University of Basel (Switzerland)
  • University of Bern (Switzerland)
  • Aix-Marseille University (France)
  • University of Passau (Germany)
  • University of Mainz (Germany)
  • University of Mannheim (Germany)
  • University of Frankfurt am Main (Germany)
  • Ruhr-University Bochum (Germany)
  • University of Bremen (Germany)
  • University of Sheffield (England)
  • London School of Economics (England)
  • University of Lancaster (England)
  • Kobe University (Japan)
  • University of Glasgow (Scotland)
  • University of Stirling (Scotland)
  • The University of Edinburgh (Scotland)

The Pre-Moot was based on the problem for the 25nd Willem Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot, with final rounds in Vienna in March 2018.

The Edinburgh Pre-Moot is an important step for many students in their preparation for their pleadings at the moot venue in Vienna as it guaranteed each student the opportunity to plead on at least two occasions, test out their arguments and receive feedback from arbitrators.


Without the help and support of our legal and arbitration community this would not be possible. With sincere thanks to our arbitrators (alphabetical order) for giving their time and advice to the students:

  • Alberto Brown (University of Edinburgh)
  • Calum MacNeill QC FCIArb (Faculty of Advocates)
  • Caroline Marshall (Pinsent Masons LLP)
  • Carolyn Boyd (Pinsent Masons LLP)
  • Chris Pflueger (University of Mannheim)
  • Daniele Simoniello (University of Basel)
  • David Bartos FCI Arb (Terra Firma Chambers)
  • Donny Mackinnon (Chartered Arbitrator)
  • Dr David Parrat QC (Faculty of Advocates)
  • Dr Hong-Lin Yu (University of Stirling)
  • Dr Javier Solana (University of Glasgow)
  • Dr Neil Dowers (4 Pump Court)
  • Dwayne Machel (University of Glasgow)
  • Elias Klodt (University of Glasgow)
  • Felipe Volio (University of Passau)
  • Fraser Simpson (Pinsent Masons LLP)
  • Hashim Mude
  • Hikari Saito (University of Aberdeen)
  • Iain Aitchison (Navigant)
  • Jae Hyuk Lee (BPP Law School)
  • John MacLeod (Univeristy of Glasgow)
  • Konstantina Maniati (University of Edinburgh)
  • Kotryna Kerpauskaite (London School of Economics)
  • Laetitia Highman
  • Laura McEwen (CMS)
  • Lea Kuebert (University of Edinburgh)
  • Lindy Patterson QC (Essex Chambers)
  • Lucas Mies (University of Frankfurt)
  • Lynda Ross (Burness Paull)
  • Maximilian Zrenner (University of Passau)
  • Michael Schifferli (WengerPlattner/University of Bern)
  • Mirella Janett (University of Basel)
  • Professor Akira Saito (Kobe University)
  • Professor James Claxton (Kobe University)
  • Robert Howie QC (Ampersand Advocates)
  • Ross Anderson (Ampersand Advocates)
  • Ross Macdonald (University of Edinburgh)
  • Sean Beagan (University of Mainz)
  • Sean Gibbs (Director Hanscomb Intercontinental)
  • Sebastian Seidel (University of Mannheim)
  • Shona Frame (CMS)
  • Sophia Mendo (University of Frankfurt)
  • Sophie Birkner (JP Morgan Chase & Co)
  • The Rt Hon Lord Hamilton
  • Tobias Pinkel (University of Bremen)
  • Valentino Berger (University of Bern)



The 7th Edinburgh Pre-Moot would not have become a reality without the huge commitment and active contribution from our sponsors. Due to their support we are able to welcome to Scotland students from all corners of the world.